Dharana meditation (Workshop)

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
  • STARTMay 14th - 9:00pm

  • ENDMay 14th - 9:30pm

  • VENUEOnline

  • TICKET PRICEFree of charge

Dharana meditation (Workshop)

“If the mind is concentrated, we do not hear sounds, we do not see anything ; all our senses are in abeyance. External sounds, external vision, all external sense perceptions, therefore, can be overcome by concentration; and intensity of concentration leads to meditation.”
~ Swami Paramananda

For the next few sessions, we will focus on the Dharana meditation. Here is what it said by Patanjali have said about this type of meditation in the context of meditation in general:

“Dharana (concentration) is holding the mind on to some particular object. An unbroken flow of knowledge in that object is Dhyana (meditation). When that, giving up all forms, reflects only the meaning, it is Samadhi.”

Dharana (also known as Samatha in Buddhism) is a preparation for deep states of meditation that take place when the subject (oneself) and the object of concentration have become one, when duality has merged into unity. Before that point comes dhyana (meditation), “un unbroken flow of knowledge”.

We will explore those states and insights in meditation by focusing on different topics or objects of concentration.

If you wish to participate, please sign up for it here, and I will send you the link to where the weekly online events will be taking place. If you already have the link from before, then no need to sign up each time.

For more information about weekly meditation events on AscendingPath.org, click here.

 

Dharana meditation – Saturday, May 14, 2022.

Due to difference in time zones, there will be two practice slots, and you can join whichever suits you more:

First slot – 5 AM New York;  11 AM Rome;  5 PM Singapore;  7 PM Sydney

Second slot – 3 PM New York;  9 PM Rome;  3 AM Singapore (Sunday);  5 AM Sydney (Sunday)

(NOTE: if you wish to join the first practice slot, please message me that you will do so, even if you already have the link to the Zoom practice room, as this time slot is less popular)

Details

Date:
May 14
Time:
9:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Cost:
Free of charge
Categories:
Website:
https://ascendingpath.org/weekly-meditation-events/

Organizer

Ascending Path
Website:
www.ascendingpath.org

Venue

Online
Zoom,
+ Google Map
EVENT MAP